The end of the monarchy

While King Louis Philippe has been long gone, and the monarchy with him, Café Louis Philippe is still alive and kicking.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Café Louis Philippe, Paris, 4 ème

In a little segment I’d like to call, “get to know Goe,” I’ll let you all know that I lived in France six years ago. I moved to a little suburb outside of Angoulême known primarily (and pretty much only) for its association with bande dessinée (comic books), in September of 2010.  I studied there during my last year of high school, and as one hopefully does, made many friends that I still hold near and dear. One of those friends I had the pleasure of rekindling with on this perfect October Saturday; the talented and beautiful Cherry Lazar.

She advised we go to Louis P. because while it may be “a little touristy… it’s a classic.”

The classically French prepared cuisine found at Café Louis is what you want it to be. So many French bistros are underwhelming for what you pay; never trust any old cute street-side Parisian bistro. Most likely, it’s not good. You’ll thank me later for my honesty.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

The house cat is a great dining companion.

They did a pretty presentation of estouffade de bœuf, a braised/marinated cut of beef with onions, olives & steamed potatoes. I was also assured that they make an amazing duck with your choice of sauce and might I say, the sauce aux cerises looked amazing.

As I’m more of a dessert for lunch kind of gal on the weekends (I’m a good girl Monday through Friday) I ordered fondant au chocolat avec sauce café. It’s basically a lighter version of fudge served with a perfectly prepared coffee infused crème anglaise. Cherry had the profiteroles au chocolat which were filled with ice cream and are on my to-eat-later list.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Fondant au Chocolat, sauce café & du café

Many cups of coffee and a conversation filled with six-years worth of content later, we left with bellies happy and our ideal Parisian bistro experience fulfilled.

As for more bistros with classical French cuisine that won’t let you down, Cherry shared some insight with me. I’ll give you a handful of names that were lovingly passed on to me:

  • Big Fernand
  • Le Hibou
  • Le Pré aux Clercs
  • Café Charlot

If you want access to the rest, you’ll have to come visit chez moi.

xo Mademoiselle Goe

Leave a Reply

