Sept. 22 – farewell to summer

It’s the first day of fall & with that, we say au revoir to many of our favorite Parisian summer pastimes & watch as the city changes different shades of gray.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Picnic dinners by the Seine

The hot days that brought cool nights were often spent along the Seine. Work the next morning realities don’t really call for a night out on the town (sometimes), so dinners along the water are the best way to make use of the good weather. Fruit, cheese, bread, wine (maybe chocolate) & some good company make for a lovely way to end the evening. But with autumn’s chill approaching, these moments will soon be fond memories.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Paris Fashion Week  is upon us

While Paris fashion week ultimately kicks off the 27th of September, it’s already been leaking through the Parisian cracks. Little parties here and there,  previews popping up at different venues & of course the sly coffee dates of the fashion world’s elite at all the local bistros are being uncovered as we virtually speak.

I’ve mapped out where the shows will be, at what time & am currently scouting for nearby cafés for me to perch and people-watch as I, a plebeian, will have no right to be among those attending. My only wish is to see Rihanna and Kim Kardashian West.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I cut my hair to appear more Parisian

I’m a big advocate for changing my appearance with the seasons. Kick out the old and bring in the new. Keeps things exciting, reminds you to love yourself no matter what & you get to play around a little.

Upon grabbing breakfast with a few friends I received a message from one stating they’d be running late. So I thought, “hey, I’ve got an extra 10 minutes… I’m going to give myself some fringe.” I then took some sewing scissors and did just that. Quite honestly, they turned out way better than I expected and I’m not 50 euros in the hole. Win-win. Also, it’s one step closer to emulating Caroline de Maigret.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

La Madeleine, Paris, 8éme

What will never lose its luster, is the constant marveling of all things beautiful in Paris. La Madeleine in the 8éme (8th arrondissement), is a Roman Catholic church that upon first glance looks like a government monument with its columns like the Panthéon, but inside is this beautiful church with gold detailing in every arch, pillar, walkway etc. It’s truly breathtaking.

I will be back again time after time, season after season.

Bisous

Leave a Reply

