Sept. 6 – Bonjour Paris

Since arriving in Paris, August 20, I’ve finally found myself in a comfortable position. Sounds depressing to say I’m only just happy, but I believe it’s normal to be in a state of bittersweetness especially when moving somewhere not trés connu par toi.

IMG_2946

On the way to LAX – Paris bound

Leaving the states isn’t new to me, but it’s always hard to say goodbye. I leave behind both people and a place that make me feel a sense of “home”. That being said, it’s exciting to live in a city for a year, knowing that it will become familiar and another place I’ll feel major attachment.

Two weeks into living in Paris and I’ve already found friendly faces, support systems, good food & drink, pride, bonne santé and constant visual stimulation.

IMG_3409

Café Pouchkine, Saint-Germain-des-Prés, Paris

Both of my weekends already spent in the French countryside on top of weekdays spent in the bustling city make for much needed balance while I still try to find the pace of my new lifestyle.

Normandy, being less than 2 hours away, is a perfect getaway for the always moving Parisian. I’m lucky enough to have a farmhouse, complete with garden & functioning kitchen, as well as an apple orchard with land full of racing horses and flowers at my disposal. Two retreats I’m glad to take from time to time.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Le Fresne, Haute-Normandie, France

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Le Fresne, Haute-Normandie, France

Back in Paris for my third week, I’m getting into the swing of things & exploring the many arrondissements it has to offer. Saint-Germain-des-Prés is stealing my heart with it’s many famous pâtisseries, lively demeanor & local boutiques. I’m dreaming of the day when it becomes as familiar as the back of my hand, but I know that will take time (which I have plenty of).

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Ladurée, Saint-Germain-des-Prés, Paris

Posts to come: friends, work, school, food and just about everything else that happens in la vie.

Bisous

Leave a Reply

